When you connect to this website, you send your IP address and sometimes some cookies. You may also give us personal identifying information, such as your name and contact information. All this data is used to securely provide you with the services that you request. We encourage you to review our privacy policy to make sure that you understand how your data is managed, and to contact us if you have any questions. View Privacy Policy

2010 Breaking news archive

From NASPAWiki

You are viewing a condensed mobile version of this NASPA webpage.
Switch to full version.

These archived news items originally appeared on the Breaking news page.

January 2010

January 4, 2010: 2500 members

The number of paid NASPA members in the membership database surpassed 2500 today. Directors can download a listing of all valid members.

January 6, 2010: rules revision announced

New rules changes go into effect February 2, 2010. The updated Official Tournament Rules (along with a summary of the changes) are available now.

January 21, 2010: Bryan Pepper joins Advisory Board

NASPA is pleased to announce the addition of Bryan Pepper to the Advisory Board effective January 1. Bryan is a longtime player and director, including many years as a divisional director at Nationals. Bryan was appointed by Mary Rhoades, whose tenure just ended. Outgoing Advisory Board members are given the opportunity to appoint a replacement, a policy that NASPA adopted from the NSA.

We are grateful to Mary for her five years of service on the Advisory Board, as well as her continued service on many other important NASPA committees, and we look forward to Bryan's contributions to the Advisory Board.

January 24, 2010: bulletin published

Volume 2, Number 1 of the NASPA Bulletin is now available for member download.

January 24, 2010: new Advisory Board decisions

Advisory Board published a number of new decisions in the new bulletin, including:

  • The AB okayed a new, separate rating system for sanctioned games played using the Collins (SOWPODS) lexicon. Details will be announced on the website soon.
  • The AB enacted as NASPA policy an agreement made among tour/cruise tournament directors that their events be separated by 90 days and not the usual two weeks.

February 2010

February 1, 2010: NSC staff announcement

The division leaders for 2010 NSC have been named: John Robertson, Bryan Pepper, Dallas Johnson, Judy Newhouse and Dan Stock.

February 4, 2010: Matt Hopkins honored

Advisory Board announced that it has named Matt Hopkins its first Member Emeritus.

February 9, 2010: Stanton, CA rated

The tournament held in Stanton, CA on January 31 has finally been rated today. Consequently, the monthly rating list and tournaments results (text pic) for February were revised.

March 2010


April 2010


May 2010

May 20, 2010: Updated Incident Report Form

The Incident Report Form has been updated.

May 31, 2010: bulletin published

Volume 2, Number 2 of the NASPA Bulletin is now available for member download.

June 2010


July 2010

July 1, 2010: Edward De Guzman scores record 771 points

A new OTCWL tournament record for the highest winning game score was set today in the second early bird event of the 2010 West Coast Championship in Reno, NV. Edward De Guzman scored a whopping 771 points, besting the previous record by one point. Congratulations Ed!

July 2, 2010: Nigel Peltier makes record seven bingos

More OTCWL tournament records were broken in Reno today. On the third round of the main event, Nigel Peltier played seven bingos (PINTOES, ACONITE, RAPIDLY, INFOLDED, EMIRATE, SHEARING, DAtABLE), setting a new record for the most bingos by one player in a game. The previous record was six bingos. Congratulations Nigel!

Nigel's opponent Jeff Martin also made a bingo (CORNIEsT) for a combined total of eight, which tied the record for the most bingos by both players in a game. Congratulations to both!

July 3, 2010: Marlon Hill and Ben Schoenbrun score −22 total

Marlon Hill and Ben Shoenbrun set a new OTCWL tournament record for the lowest combined game score with a total of negative 22 points. The previous record was −20.

The game ended after six consecutive zero scores from challenged phonies and exchanges and both players got negative points from the tiles left on their racks. Marlon drew a blank and won with −6 points, while Ben got stuck with the Q and lost with −16 points. Congratulations to both!

July 12, 2010: Advisory Board rulings

Advisory Board has published new rulings concerning delays in submitting tournament results and overdue member accounts.

July 14, 2010: NASPA Financials Posted

NASPA's 2009 Form 990 has been posted on the Financial Reports page.

July 15, 2010: New Requirements for Sanctioning Tournaments

The Tournament Committe announces new sanctioning requirements for LCT and TCC Tournaments.

July 22, 2010: William Giblin wins gift card

William Giblin is the 400th registrant for the 2010 NSC. He wins a restaurant gift card worth USD 50.00 donated by Judy Newhouse. Congratulations Bill!

August 2010

August 7, 2010: Dallas Johnson joins Advisory Board

NASPA’s Advisory Board has invited Dallas Johnson to join the board. Johnson replaces Greg Edwards, who resigned in May.

August 11, 2010: Nigel Richards wins National SCRABBLE Championship

Clinching the win with three games to go, 2008 NSC winner Nigel Richards does it again! Congratulations!

August 16, 2010: Nigel Richards wins World Players Championship

The new National Champion Nigel Richards makes it a double and wins the 2010 World Players Championship too. His record was 24.5-7.5 +3191. The runner-up was the reigning World Champion Pakorn Nemitrmansuk with a 24-8 +1985 record. Congratulations!

August 27, 2010: Member list application updated

Certified directors have access to a concise list of current members eligible to play in tournaments, including new nonrated members. The new version of this list automatically excludes players under suspension in addition to expired members.

September 2010


October 2010


November 2010

November 19, 2010: Shan Abbasi joins Ratings and Recognition Committee

Shan Abbasi has joined Ratings and Recognition Committee. He will be maintaining the list of official NASPA records.

December 2010

December 1, 2010: John Robertson and Jeff Parsons reelected to Canadian Committee

Congratulations to incumbents John Robertson and Jeff Parsons, who were reelected to their seats on NASPA’s Canadian Committee. Canadian NASPA members in good standing were eligible to vote between November 1 and 30, 2010, and 70 exercised this right.

The candidates each received the following number of votes:

  • John Robertson: 64
  • Jeff Parsons: 27
  • Carl Madden: 25

December 31, 2011: Committee changes

There have been a number of changes in committee rosters during December and at the end of the year. Andy Saunders has joined History Committee. Tournament Committee welcomed two new members, Ryan Fischer and Jason Keller to replace two resigning members. Governance Committee and Marketing Committee have become inactive due to lack of active members.